Trinity-Griffin

The 2014 Hyde Park Homes Tour begins at this repurposed school. The building began its life in 1947 as Trinity Methodist, one of the many new churches begun after the end of WWII. In its current resurrection, the building houses The Griffin School, a college preparatory high school devoted to the arts. The signature brick sanctuary, which combines traditional and modern elements, was constructed in 1955. The Austin American-Statesman wrote that Trinity had “the informal, friendly atmosphere of a country church in the city.” Today, the sanctuary houses the school’s library and performance...

view the house

Morrison-Smith House

Like many houses in historic Hyde Park, the Morrison-Smith House was built during the early years of the neighborhood, housed several prominent families, declined as rental property, and faced demolition until the current owners decided to restore it. The 1919 Craftsman Bungalow with wonderful historic architectural detailing received City of Austin landmark designation in 2008. It is one of only a few brick Arts and Crafts homes in Hyde...

view the house

George-Hinman House

Roy and Maudie George owned this home for almost 50 years. He was a longtime owner of Roy George Texaco Service Station at 42nd and Guadalupe streets. In 1998, an architect and his wife purchased the 850-square-foot home but rejected proposals to demolish the house. They kept the original footprint and embarked on a renovation to expand the home to its current 1,850 square...

view the house

Strickland House

James and Della Strickland moved this 1910 home to Duval Street in 1952, from North or West Campus of the University of Texas, saving it from demolition. In a second salvation in 2011, the current owners were the only potential buyers who planned to restore the house instead of demolishing it. Striking Victorian features include two fireplace mantels, 11-foot ceilings, pocket doors, transoms, and front and rear verandas....

view the house

McCoy House

John and Florence McCoy built their home in 1925 on a dirt road in what was considered the outskirts of Austin, and remained for the next 64 years. One of their children who grew up here later received an achievement award for his work on the first flight of NASA’s space shuttle. The current occupants, only the second owners, restored the exterior to its original appearance, updated the home, and received a Certified Wildlife Habitat designation for their native plant...

view the house

Mahler-Van Metre

The artist and classical musician who own the 1935 Craftsman bungalow have placed their creative stamp on this home. Noteworthy features include a garage that was transformed into a freestanding garden room, native wildlife landscaping, and artistic metal railings, banisters, and gates. The home is filled with oil paintings by the owner Peter van Metre....

view the house

Crow House

First resident Ray Kennedy, a baker at Cuneo’s Quality Baking on Guadalupe Street, sweetened life in Hyde Park with his well-known recipe for rum cake. In 1944, Lloyd and Florence Fry moved in and made the house their home for almost a half-century. The original oak floors and clawfoot tub complement the current owners’ family heirlooms, Burmese sand paintings, Eastern European religious art, Tibetan prayer wheel, and other items they collected from their world...

view the house